The Scott Adams ICO: Dilbert Goes Blockchain

Scott Adams has always moved fast- and this time, he managed to grasp the blockchain idea. Now, an ICO opens to the public in a few days.

Dilbert may have found a way of one-upping his pointy-haired boss by understanding blockchain technology. Scott Adams, the entrepreneur and cartoonist, has caught up with the blockchain trend and on November 10, his ICO opens to the public.

Currently, the ICO is in a pre-sale stage where larger investors put in upward of $50,000. The minimum investment for the next stage is $250. The ICO also requires a registration before the token event.

Adams created WhenHub, a startup with the idea of valuing time-based information. The platform proposed by WhenHub would link experts and clients, and remunerate the experts with the native token. This would be an ICO building over an already existing app and product, furthering its functionalities through the power of blockchain.

The WhenHub SAFT token would be using Ethereum-based smart contracts, thus taking the hassle out of invoices and delayed payments.

"WHEN Tokens are not an investment vehicle, but because they will be artificially limited in quantity, their value is expected to fluctuate based on customer demand for the WhenHub Interface app," mentioned Adams in his blog.

The token of Adams, while enjoying the high profile of the creator, is still a risky investment. The plus is the infrastructure of the WhenHub app, as well as the promise to curate the team of experts appearing in the app.

The app would also control the value of the services, so that customers always pay the same value in fiat, whether the token rises or falls.

The WhenHub ICO has been wary of recent regulatory pressures. The ICO is limited to US-based buyers- they can opt in only if they are accredited investors. New York State is included, presumably because of stricter user profile requirements, which also put off exchanges like Poloniex from providing services.

Otherwise, funds in Ethereum may come from Australia, Canada, European Economic Area, Hong Kong, India, Israel, Japan, Russian Federation, Switzerland and the United Kingdom.